Our Directors

Epic Taperoo

Laura Reed


Laura joined the Epic Energy Board as a Non-Executive Director on 2 May 2013 and became Chair on 1 April 2017. She has over 20 years’ experience in the energy infrastructure sector and held the roles of Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure from 2008 until May 2012.

Before joining Spark Infrastructure, Laura spent nine years at Envestra Limited (now known as Australian Gas Infrastructure Group) in a number of senior financial roles including Chief Financial Officer.

Laura is the Chair of ERIC Alpha Holdings Pty Ltd and its subsidiaries, which holds the NSW government’s 49% ownership of Ausgrid. In addition, Laura is also a Director of Ausgrid. She holds other Non-Executive Director roles on the Boards of the following organisations: Canadian Utilities, ATCO Australia Pty Ltd, ATCO Gas Australia GP Pty Ltd and the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC).

Laura holds an MBA from Deakin University and a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and is a fellow of Certified Practising Accountants Australia.


Paul DeSouza

Non-Executive Director

Paul joined the Epic Energy Board on 1 April 2017 as a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Paul is currently a partner in QIC, the investment manager of QSuper’s ownership holding in Epic Energy. Paul joined QIC in August 2006 and is a leader in the team’s investment and asset management activities in the Government and public private partnerships sector. Paul has had significant involvement in transactions and/or asset management for Thames Water, Brisbane Airport, Westlink M7, Port of Brisbane, Grup Maritim TCB and the Long Beach Court House. He is also a member of the Global Infrastructure Investment Committee and the Asset and Investment Management Committee.

Paul has over 25 years of professional experience including approximately 20 years in the infrastructure sector across investment management, banking and finance. He is currently a Director of the Brisbane Airport Corporation group of companies and Chairs the audit and risk committee.

Paul is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and New Zealand, holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Queensland and a Bachelor of Business Accountancy (Honours) from the Queensland University of Technology.


Stephen Cake

Non-Executive Director

Stephen joined the Epic Energy Board on 1 May 2018 as a Non-Executive Director. He is an experienced corporate executive, having spent more than 30 years working in a broad range of international businesses.

Until August 2017, Stephen headed global acquisitions and strategy for Energy Developments Limited, where he worked for seven years. Prior to EDL, he was M+A Director for International Power plc – a UK based FTSE 30 global power generation business - with roles in London and Melbourne. He also previously worked for an emerging markets power sector business.

Stephen holds an LLB from London University and qualified as a lawyer in the UK. He spent 15 years in private and public practice, including five years in the Sultanate of Oman. He is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is acting chairman of Fighting Chance, a Sydney based not for profit organisation which designs, builds and scales social enterprises, which move the dial for Australians with disability.


Stuart Glenn

Non-Executive Director

Stuart joined the Epic Energy Board on 1 August 2018 as a Non-Executive Director.

Prior to returning to Australia to pursue a career as a Non-Executive Company Director, Stuart held numerous positions with Parsons Brinckerhoff in Australia, the United Kingdom, Europe and Asia, retiring as COO and President of Parsons Brinckerhoff based in Singapore.

Stuart is a Non-Executive Director of SAGE Group, LMS Energy Pty Ltd and Omega Ensemble.

He holds a Bachelor Degree in Science from Murdoch University, is a graduate of the Senior Executive Management Program from Columbia University, New York, and is a member of AICD.


Andrew Jennings

Alternate Director for Paul DeSouza

Andrew was appointed an Alternate Director for Paul DeSouza on 1 August 2018.


Andrew is currently a Principal at QIC, the investment manager of QSuper’s ownership holding in Epic Energy.  Andrew joined QIC in May 2014, and is principally focused on investment and asset management activities in the energy & utilities sector.  He has over 13 years of corporate finance experience.


Andrew is a key member of the QIC team responsible for the establishment of the Powering Australian Renewables Fund (PARF) and the entity’s subsequent acquisitions.


Prior to commencing at QIC, Andrew was a Vice President in the Natural Resources (Utilities) Corporate Finance team at Deutsche Bank in London, where he was based for four years following a transfer from Deutsche Bank’s Sydney office.


Andrew is an Alternate Director of PARF. He holds Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) (Honours) and Bachelor of Commerce degrees, from the University of Queensland.